South of the Border, West of the Sun ~ Haruki Murakami

51gJzfIEb5L._SX321_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Like I’ve mentioned in previous posts, I fell into the swirl of never-ending reading for a little bit. One of those books happened to be South of the Border, West of the Sun by Haruki Murakami.
Remember this tweet?

Screen Shot 2017-04-19 at 9.42.00 PM

Now, no detailed beautiful enough description of this book can hold a candle to the story told. A generalized description of this novel could never be accurate enough to describe the emotional complexity of this fictional “non-fiction”.

I’ve found that Murakami has a way of putting the read actually into the story, and this book is on of the best examples of that.
While reading it, I sometimes felt personally attacked, like I was the one on the receiving end of all of the main characters [Hajime’s] bs; sometimes I was Hajime, struggling to keep up, a lost [wo]man, a self-proclaimed monster.

I was constantly heartbroken while reading this book, and there were times where I thought I was starting to “resent” my partner, because of what I was experiencing.

Maybe I’m over reacting, or maybe Murakami is just that good.
Read it for yourself and tell me how you traveled through this novel.

I synced up with the coworker that let me borrow South of the Border, West of the Sun from her, and we both gushed over how greatly invested the writing style made us.

South of the Border destroyed what felt like an emotional stability; and though it is such a beautifully written book, if you come from a long line of bad relationships it can be truly triggering.

I highly recommend that people read this book. Though I make it out to be a hellish venture, it is truly a fantastic read.

Sincerely,
The RwR


Have you read this book? Or anything by Murakami?
Let me know in the comments below! I want to hear your thoughts on his work.

Leave a Reply

